Manitoba Female Chiefs Honored at Assembly

banner 468x60)

The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs had their Annual General Assembly in northern Manitoba at Nelson House, Manitoba on July 18-20, 2017.  A growing number of female leadership has been steadily on the rise.

The leaders were given recognition in front of the assembly.  The women were presented with a red shawl with the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs logo.

The following female chiefs were present:

Pimicikamak Cree Nation Chief Cathy Merrick, Marcel Colomb Chief Priscilla Colomb, Oo-Chi-Chak Konispi Chief Stephanie Blackbird, Tataskwayak Chief Doreen Spence, Pine Creek Chief Karen Batson, War Lake Chief Betsy Kennedy, and Canupawakpa Chief Viola Eastman.

Missing from photo:  Swan Lake Chief Francine Meeches, Poplar River First Nation Vera Mitchell and Opaskwayak Cree Nation Vice-Chief Jennifer Flett.

Manitoba has 63 First Nation communities.


banner 468x60)

    Related Post

    banner 468x60)

    Leave a reply